GLIBCXX_3.4.15 not found after install GCC 4.6

Posted: April 21, 2011 in KDE, QT, Ubuntu
Tags: , , ,

Hello everybody. Last weekend I was compiling the Qt to build KDE. The compilation finished without problem but to generate the local API documentation, the following error occurred: GLIBCXX_3.4.15 not found.

I’ve had compiled the GCC 4.6 as shown in Installing GCC 4.6 in the Ubuntu 10.10 and when I’ve installed it, the file “libstdc++.so.6.0.15” was not installed in “/usr/lib/”.

To solve that, copy the file from build directory (this location refer where you compiled GCC 4.6):

sudo cp gcc/build/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/libstdc++-v3/src/.libs/libstdc++.so.6.0.15 /usr/lib/

Now, redirect the links to point to this new one:

sudo rm libstdc++.so libstdc++.so.6
sudo ln -s libstdc++.so.6.0.15 libstdc++.so
sudo ln -s libstdc++.so.6.0.15 libstdc++.so.6

Done that, the local API documentation was generated without problem.

That’s it. See you at next time.

Comments
  1. Craig says:

    I was trying to get clang to work (which also requires 6.0.15), and while poking around I found it was installed at /usr/local/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.15. It installed there when I installed graphite (the c++ compiler that includes parallelization optimizations). I guess I could have set the path to /usr/lib instead, but I didn’t.

    If you want your tools to find the library at that location, then you’ll need to define LD_LIBRARY_PATH as:

    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib:/usr/lib

    Everything works as it should now. You might take a look if you’ve also got it installed at that location too. Otherwise, maybe someone else might find the info useful.

    • buildall says:

      Hi Craig.

      You are right. If we changed the library location, we need to specify in LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Firstly the system searches the libraries on the paths listed in LD_LIBRARY_PATH, after in the directory /etc/ and by the last in the directories /usr/lib/ and /lib/.

      In my case, I have libstdc++ installed in /usr/lib/.

      Thank you for your comments and suggestion.

  2. Joe says:

    I run Debain and like to use the newest Updates.

    Recently gcc-4.6 was installed and my Operating System broke. When I “root shell” and run aptitude I see this:

    # aptitude
    aptitude: /usr/local/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15′ not found (required by aptitude)

    I tried to do the _minimum_ change so I did this:

    # rm /usr/local/lib/libstdc++.so.6

    Now everything works as it should – until gcc-4.6 gets re-installed.

  3. alex says:

    For me also same problem,
    my gcc version is 4.6.3, but when i executed in the terminal like
    strings /opt/quartus/linux/libstdc++so.6 | grep GLIBC
    It showed only GLIBCXX_3.4.1 to 3.4.9

    where is the mistake? how to solve?
    I upgraded my gcc like this

    sudo apt-get upgrade gcc

Leave a Reply

