Ubuntu 11.10 was freezing on Netbook Acer Aspire one 722

Posted: January 22, 2012 in Kubuntu, Ubuntu
Tags: , ,

Hello guys.

After a long time without post an article, here it goes my first post of this year.

Some days ago I bought a Netbook Acer Aspire one 722 and I have decided to install the Ubuntu 11.10. During the installation or after of the installation it was freezing.

It was going on due Broadcom wireless driver. To solve that, just follow the steps below:
- Restart your computer
- Press F2 to start BIOS setup
- Select Boot option and in the Boot priority order list, leave "Network Boot : Atheros Boot Agent" in the first place

After that, you can use the netbook without any problem regarding freezing.

That’s it. See you next time.

Comments
  1. chris says:

    I just had a very similar problem with my Toshiba NB305 netbook and found your site.

    This only happened to me when I installed Ubuntu with LVM full disk encryption. Following your instructions above, solved my issue.


    Toshiba NB305 netbook
    Ubuntu 11.10

    Thanks

  2. dan says:

    I was running into this exact same problem on my Aspire One 722.

    Thanks for troubleshooting, works perfectly!

  3. messsias says:

    thanks
    problem solved!

  4. John says:

    Yes! It worked for me!

  5. stefano says:

    Thanks. Poblem solved!

  6. Eugenio says:

    Solved also for me (Ubuntu/OpenSUSE on Aspire One 722). I had the problem also with newest BIOS update (1.08) and kernel (3.18).

    Any details about what is the cause and why it happens?

Leave a Reply

